Dove Review – Chick Advisor #ExperienceDove

#ExperienceDove

IMG_8177

 

As a member of ChickAdvisor I can apply to review new products.  Every once in a while I get chosen and it is super exciting to be able to review the products.

I was recently chosen to try the 5 Dove products shown in the picture above.

The products were:

  • Dove Style+Care Flexible Hold Hairspray
  • Dove Refresh + Care Invigorating Dry Shampoo
  • Dove Pure Care Dry Oil Nourishing Hair Treatment with African Macadamia Oil
  • Dove Nutritive Solutions Daily Moisture Shampoo
  • Dove Nutritive Solutions Daily Moisture Conditioner

I was quite glad to get to try these products for me I loved some and I hated some.  Here are my reviews…..

 

Dove Nutritive Solutions Daily Moisture Shampoo and Dove Nutritive Solutions Daily Moisture Conditioner

IMG_8178

I really liked both the shampoo and the conditioner.  I have really dark curly/wavy hair and a good shampoo is important to me.  Most times I use something that is made specifically for curls.

I have some issues with frizz especially if I use a blow dryer to dry my hair instead of letting it air dry.

The Dove shampoo smelled fantastic.  Not too strong or overbearing.  It lathered well and made my hair feel clean.

I followed the shampoo with the conditioner which also smelled great and left my hair feeling clean and soft.

I personally only use Conditioner on every second wash or so, but this conditioner did not make my hair feel greasy so I am using it more often.

A couple of great products from Dove.

 

Dove Refresh + Care Invigorating Dry Shampoo

IMG_8174

 

This was my absolute first time ever using a dry shampoo so I had nothing to compare it to, but I was super excited to give it a try.

I was disappointed and very let down.

I normally wash my hair every second day. So The day after I washed my hair I skipped and the day I would normally wash my hair I decided to give the dry shampoo a try.

My first impression was the speed and force behind it, I did not expect it to come out of the can so quickly and so much at the one time. It was a white powdery substance.

I hated the smell it was too strong and not something I would want clinging to my hair all day.

It did absolutely nothing for my hair. I used it as the directions on the can told me too. Never noticed much change so I added a little more to my hair.

I could feel the product on my hair, and to touch my hair was just gross.

I felt like my hair was dirtier with the dry shampoo then it was if I had just went another day without washing it.

I will not be purchasing this product.

 

Dove Pure Care Dry Oil Nourishing Hair Treatment with African Macadamia Oil

IMG_8176
This was my first time trying a Dry oil.  I was a little skeptical about it.  Being someone with very dark hair it is very easy for certain products to make my hair look and feel greasy/oily.

I tried this products both ways suggested on the bottle.  The first time I tried it before shampooing.  I choose to do it this way to make sure that the product was not going to leave my hair feeling gross.

It smelled great, washed out great.  Not sure if it did anything to treat my hair or not, but I did like it.

The second time I used it I tried it the first way suggested in the directions.  I put about 4 pumps into my hand rubbed and then evenly distributed in my hair.

I absolutely loved the results.  It smelled great.  It made my hair feel silky and smooth without feeling oily or greasy.

I have even blow dried my hair after applying this product and I loved it.

My normally frizzy hair was way less frizzy and much much more manageable.

It is a little pricey but then I am not sure what to compare it to since I have never tried dry oil before or any hair oils. I will be keeping my eyes open for a good sale once my free bottle is used up.

Fantastic product!!

 

Dove Style+Care Flexible Hold Hairspray

IMG_8175
For me this product got some pros and cons.  My con list is  shorter than my pro list but I still do not think I will purchase this in the future.

Pros:
–    It is definitely flexible hold.  Does not feel caked on.  Does not feel stiff.
–    Made my hair feel smooth and silky
–    Was very easy to comb or brush out after a day of wear

Cons:
–    Not good for holding curls or hairstyles that need a stronger hold.
–    I absolutely hated the smell, it was way too strong for me.

Because of the scent i will most likely not purchase in the future.

IMG_8184

 

So all in all I really liked 3/5 of the Dove products that I was chosen to review.  The Shampoo and Conditioner were great, smelled great, and made my hair feel great.

The dry oil was my absolute favorite to review because it was something I have never tried before in any brand.  It was unique, smelled great and did exactly what it said it was suppose to do.  My hair felt great, smelled great and it did not leave any greasy residue.

The dry shampoo was awful and I know without a doubt that I will never purchase this brand of dry shampoo in the future.  The residue and smell was awful and after a few hours my hair felt dirtier than it did before using it.  I have never tried any other brand of dry shampoo and am hoping to one day try something that works better.

The hairspray was okay, it felt great, it combed/brushed out great but the scent was just too overbearing for me.

I appreciate being given the opportunity to review these products and I hope my review is helpful to someone.

#ExperienceDove

Disclaimer:  I received this product complimentary to write an honest review.  All opinions are my own and I will not be compensated in any way for writing this review.

cooltext693037976

2 thoughts on “Dove Review – Chick Advisor #ExperienceDove

Leave a Reply

